Skip to main content

Values & Diversity

Access, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Committee

Mission Statement

The Department of Dramatic Art is committed to cultivating a diverse and inclusive environment for the community that it serves, including students, staff, faculty, and guest artists. An academic and artistic community such as ours must embrace divergent backgrounds in its pursuit of higher learning and its vision of the arts as a human endeavor in which mutual respect and collaboration are integral.

Acknowledging that each of us has a role in creating and sustaining a departmental culture that supports academic and artistic excellence, the Department of Dramatic Art established the Access, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion committee to remain intentional in our practice and commit ourselves:

  • To advance ideals of diversity and inclusion;
  • To promote an academically and artistically enriching and supportive environment that allows all members of its community to thrive and succeed;
  • To foster a safe environment for all students, staff, and faculty, irrespective of differences of age, color, disability, gender, gender expression, gender identity, genetic information, national origin, race, religion, sex, sexual orientation or veteran status;
  • To abide by federal laws and university policies of non-discrimination

In doing so, the Access, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion committee emphatically and unequivocally endorses the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill policy statement on non-discrimination.

AEDI Committee Members

  • David Navalinsky
  • Andrea Bullock
  • Chelsea James
  • Khalil Lesaldo**
  • Marissa Lupkas
  • Emma Holyst
  • Jacqueline Lawton
  • Laura Pates
  • Vivienne Benesch
  • Jan Chambers
  • Omolade Wey
  • Mark Perry
  • Kathy Williams
  • Gwendolyn Schwinke
  • Adam Versenyi
  • Adam Maxfield

*Undergraduate Student Representative
**Graduate Student Representative